Disney Memory Maker Makes Memories

MemoryMaker

MK_TSTHEATERDCHAR_7427742119_edit_cropThis year it was time for a family trip to Disney World. I had been there many times growing up, since my grandparents lived nearby, but had never taken the family. Disney has expanded significantly since then with two new theme parks and many updated attractions. Disney also has a new Memory Maker service where they take photos throughout your visit and provide you with the resulting photos online. Memory Maker costs $199 or $169, if purchased in advance.

Here is my summary of the Memory Maker service:

  • Lots of group photos and some photos taken while on the rides. Disney photographers are all around the parks and you can ask them for a photo at any time. They scan your wristband and the photos magically appear online in your  Disney account. It’s even easier on the rides. The ride knows who you are, takes your photo, and puts it in your account. You don’t need to do a thing.
  • ezgif.com-gif-maker_35Don’t give up your photo editing software. The exposure and cropping is good but not perfect. Some of the photos are too dark and others are too light. A little photo editing works magic. By the way, Disney would benefit from a relationship with Perfectly Clear. They really shouldn’t be giving customers flawed photos.
  • Inconsistent photos and videos. Some of the photographers included frames and additional graphics in their photos; others did not. You really don’t know which rides will take your photos and which ones will not. I would also like to see a lot more videos. The three videos I received (two from rides and one that was taken by one of the professional photographers) really don’t provide enough material to put together a decent video of the trip.

edit_AK_RPWROVER_7426278708_cropFor $169, I received 123 professional taken photos of the family ($1.37 per photo) and three videos. Many of the photos included me, which would not have been the case if I had taken the photos. Overall, Memory Maker is a good value, and I highly recommend it if you are planning a trip to Disney World.

Note: The animated gif above was created online from Disney’s mp4 video file using EzGif.

About Mark Mizen

At Creative Memories, I evaluate photographic products and related materials so that today's memories are not lost to the future and then communicate this information to Creative Memories Consultants and their customers. My interests extend from preservation of traditional photographs to the production of photo books to the expected longevity of electronic image files. My long-term objective is to direct the development of technology that meets consumers needs for high-quality products.
This entry was posted in Digital Photos, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Disney Memory Maker Makes Memories

  1. Dawn says:

    We used Memory Maker for the first time this year. I agree with all of your points. I would definitely have liked photos on more of the rides. We also wished photographers were located in a few more spots around the park. Perhaps there were fewer available because we were there during an off-peak time. Overall, we are very happy with the photos we received and would use MM again.

  2. Nicole says:

    I love Memory Maker. It’s not perfect, but it does get me in the picture. As a scrapbooker I have zero desire for any videos so that’s not an issue for me. I have learned to ask the photographers if they can do any “magic shots”, they don’t always offer that. I also have had to “train” my family to be willing to get their picture taken pretty much every time we see a Disney photographer, in large part because occasionally we do get a photo that isn’t great. I love the option of going online after the photos are posted and adding borders and signatures to the images – and knowing that whether I managed to get 100 photos or 1000 the price is the same.

  3. I have used Memory Maker – formerly Photo Pass – for at least 4 years. Love having myself in the photos. Be sure to order the Disney “Stock” photos disk (or download) when you get your photos. They are GREAT for backgrounds and fillers, and much better than the ones I took.
    Just bought MM for this year’s trip.
    I have even edited some of the characters out of the photos to include in my layouts, so I usually get a whole bunch of the extra frames and characters before I order my disk.

  4. Pingback: Preservation Is Forever | All About Images Blog

  5. Pingback: Understanding Digital Preservation | All About Images Blog

  6. Pingback: Forever has a new photo book printer | All About Images Blog

Leave a Reply

