Our Memories For Life Albums Not Photo-Safe

XRF results
I had a chance this morning to see the X-ray Fluoresence (XRF) results on Our Memories For Life’s album strap. Anything that contains 36% chlorine is not 100% photo-safe. Sorry, Youngevity.

X-ray FluorescenceF Spectrometer and Our Memories For Life Album Strap

X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer and Our Memories For Life Album Strap

About Mark Mizen

At Creative Memories, I evaluate photographic products and related materials so that today's memories are not lost to the future and then communicate this information to Creative Memories Consultants and their customers. My interests extend from preservation of traditional photographs to the production of photo books to the expected longevity of electronic image files. My long-term objective is to direct the development of technology that meets consumers needs for high-quality products.
This entry was posted in Scrapbooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Our Memories For Life Albums Not Photo-Safe

  1. Lisa Thurman says:

    Bummer! Thanks for doing the research, Dr. Mark.
    Is it just the strap? I wonder if we bought straps from AZ and replaced them. I know they are different but maybe that could be a temporary fix.

    • Nancy says:

      Is that even possible to trade out the straps from OMFL and AZ? I don’t know. I haven’t seen OMFL in person to have a clue if it is possible.

      • Lisa Thurman says:

        The straps are different in the front of the album. They made it to where you cannot take it apart from the front. But, I think if you cut it off, you could easily replace the straps. I believe AZ only charges $1 for the straps/cover. Well, at least CM sold them. I don’t know about AZ.

  2. Did the tests reveal that it was just the straps that are not photo safe, Dr. Mizen?

  3. Curious Cat says:

    Grateful for you keeping tabs on products and sharing the results. Disappointed by the outcome. Hopefully OMFL will take a look at this.

  4. Other Comcast says:

    So what percentage is it?

    Marianne Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. Nicole says:

    Thank you for getting us the actual test results. Hopefully now someone can confront the manufacturer who supposedly promised a photo-safe product.

  6. Sally Runnalls says:

    Will we ever have anything as good as CM?

    • Lynn G. Winters says:

      I do not believe this. Mark has chosen to delete any reply that questions his so call findings. We need to do our own homework on this.

      • Mark Mizen says:

        Anybody is welcome to get an XRF and scan the OMFL straps. I recommend the model by Thermo Electron. Within experimental error your results will agree with the results I posted. That is how science works. You can also carry out the copper wire flame test I posted earlier. It is not quantitative but will identify the presence of chlorine.

      • Chris M says:

        Since this reply is still here, I find it difficult to believe that Mark is deleting OTHER replies willy-nilly. And I have zero evidence to suggest he’s ever been anything but honest in his findings. You seem to be the only one questioning his professional integrity.

  7. L Anderson says:

    You say you write opinions, yet present them as fact. You say you had the chance to see the XRF results. Where did you see them? Was this done by a well-known lab, or by you in your back yard? How do we know you even used the HM straps? Your opinions would be more believable if you backed them up with facts and verifiable sources. when you just throw things out there you sound more like a disgruntled former employee.

    • Nicole says:

      At least Mark has some results to show us. Unless and until OMFL has test results refuting his testing, Mark wins.

    • Mark Mizen says:

      I posted a photo of the XRF, a photo of the display, and a photograph of the strap that was being tested, and I have never been an employee of Youngevity, Heritage Makers, or Our Memories For Life. I don’t have a problem if someone wants to argue with my interpretation of the data but to deny it altogether defies logic. It is a fact that the OMFL strap contains chlorine, and it is highly probable that it is made from PVC.

      • Becky says:

        As far as I know, they are changing the straps. I just heard of this a few days ago. I also notice that these posts are from June, so I would think the situation is being taken care of. I’ve not used their products and am not associated with the company.

    • Lee Anne Anderson says:

      FYI to those wondering — the writer of that comment might have a similar name to me (especially when abbreviating) but is NOT me!

  8. L Siverns-LeClair says:

    I believe scientific reports over personal statements any day. Use it to ask questions to ensure that the current info being provided can be proven.

  9. Pingback: Is 100% photo-safe the same as photo-safe? | All About Images Blog

  10. Pingback: The Truth | All About Images Blog

Leave a Reply

