iPhone Camera Captures the Moment

I am now using an iPhone 3GS. I have fallen for the latest trend in consumer marketing. This camera is easy to use and provides an ideal way to capture many of life’s moments. I have a digital SLR but I don’t always like to carry it with me. While the iPhone camera does not replace a high quality camera, it provides more than adequate photos, suitable for many projects.

20091102_iPhone Camera Captures the MomentI shot a series of photos at a Kindergarten field trip, which is one of the occasions I don’t like to carry a large camera. It is simply too difficult to manage the camera and help the children on the field trip.

The image quality of the iPhone camera was similar to my first digital camera, which was purchased seven years ago. It has a 3 megapixel camera and produces acceptable quality photos. Transferring the photos to my computer and bringing the photos into Memory Manager and StoryBook Creator was easy with the included USB cable.

The iPhone camera has some difficulty reproducing highlights. The detail was completely lost in the brightest areas of some photos. In addition, the iPhone camera has difficulty with low light levels and really needs a flash to handle those situations. The lack of an optical zoom means that careful framing the photo and moving closer to the subject is more critical than ever. My final concern is that without a lens cap, the camera lens may get scratched or dirty over time. I have no information on how image quality changes over time but it is a concern.

Overall, I am pleased with my new camera and recommend it. By the way, this camera also works as a cell phone, but that is outside the scope of this blog.

About Mark Mizen

At Creative Memories, I evaluate photographic products and related materials so that today's memories are not lost to the future and then communicate this information to Creative Memories Consultants and their customers. My interests extend from preservation of traditional photographs to the production of photo books to the expected longevity of electronic image files. My long-term objective is to direct the development of technology that meets consumers needs for high-quality products.
This entry was posted in Cameras, Digital Photos, Mobile, TypePad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iPhone Camera Captures the Moment

  1. Pingback: March for Science: All About Imaging Edition | All About Images Blog

Leave a Reply

