How I Backup My Photos

clickfree (2)All digital photos should be backed up; otherwise they could be lost to a hard disk crash, virus, or other problems.

I transfer photos from the cameras memory card to my laptop to ensure the safety of my photos. I have already learned the hard way that photos on a memory card are not safe. See A Saga of Lost Memories.

I use a clickfree external hard drive to back up photos on my laptop computer. This drive has a nice feature in that it comes with software that will nag you after a week, or any other interval that you choose, if you haven’t backed up your photos. I also transfer my photos to a home PC to create a second backup copy. Finally, I create StoryBooks. If all else fails, I will still have a printed copy of my photos

This strategy has worked well for me. A few years ago when my hard disk crashed and was not recoverable, I lost no photos because I had a current backup.

If I decide specific photos are very important, like our wedding or baby’s first photos, I also create a CD. CDs are the best way to backup photos because they cannot be overwritten and are not vulnerable to mechanical failure, like a hard disk. See A Consumer Guide to Recordable CDs and DVDs for more information. CDs are also less convenient and I admit that I do not usually take this precaution.

About Mark Mizen

At Creative Memories, I evaluate photographic products and related materials so that today's memories are not lost to the future and then communicate this information to Creative Memories Consultants and their customers. My interests extend from preservation of traditional photographs to the production of photo books to the expected longevity of electronic image files. My long-term objective is to direct the development of technology that meets consumers needs for high-quality products.
This entry was posted in Digital Photos, Photo Books, TypePad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

